A Look At All New Marvel Now!

I rundown all the new ongoing series currently announced for All New Marvel Now!, not just the ones announced at New York Comic-Con. This has since been updated with new titles.

With Marvel’s All New Marvel Now! being launched as a way to get new readers onto both new and old books, I thought I’d take a look at some of the books that we’ve seen announced so far from New York Comic-Con. We’ve got a load of books heading our way that were announced not only during the event but before, as well as new storyarcs on already existing books for new readers. However, this is only going to be a coverage of the new series as otherwise I’d be here forever, especially as the list is already quite fill as it is. Without further ado then, we will get stuck into this series. Also, feel free to let me know then what titles you’re looking forward to either in the comments section below or on twitter.

ALL NEW GHOST RIDER

Overdrive

Story: Felipe Smith | Art: Tradd More | Launch Date: 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS TITLE? A new addition to this list along with Silver Surfer and Iron Patriot, All New Ghost Rider is a book that interests me purely because whilst the character has always looked cool, I’ve rarely had the chance to experience him as I haven’t even seen the Nicholas Cage movies. This book certainly looks interesting and fresh and I’ll be anticipating it for certain. Ghost Rider is a character that hasn’t received much love recently with Marvel Now! (until NYCC) so I can’t wait to see how this plays out.

ALL NEW INVADERS

All New Invaders #1

Story: James Robinson | Art: Steve Pugh | Launch Date:  February 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS TITLE? I’m excited for All New Invaders because it’s James Robinson writing the book. I don’t know much about the characters involved aside from Captain America and Bucky – , Steve’s former sidekick -, but James Robinson has done stellar work with Earth 2 over at DC Comics and whilst I’m disappointed to see him leave I can’t wait to see what he does with this new book. Am I buying this book, then? Yep. This is probably going to be one of the first reads on the month that it’s released, as well.

ALL NEW X-FACTOR

All New X-Factor #1

Story: Peter David | Art: Carmine Di Giandomenico | Launch Date: January 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS TITLE? X-Factor was one of Marvel’s longest running ongoing series to survive the Marvel Now! rebranding, so I’m interested to see how it turns out here as I never got the chance to get on board this series. More X-Men books however are always good – particularly as they’re keeping the same writer, leaving me looking forward to seeing where this series can go from here. Hopefully it’ll be new reader friendly rather than a direct continuation of the ongoing storyline – but I’ll check this book out if i I can anyway.

AMAZING X-MEN

Amazing X-Men #1 Cover

Story: Jason Aaron | Art: Ed McGuinness | Launch Date: November 2014

WHY? Nightcrawler’s back! Whilst I haven’t encountered him much in the comics, I know enough about him from the movies to have missed him and I’m looking forward to see where Jason Aaron and Ed McGuinness who are both brilliant to see where they can take this book. The last thing I need is another X-book on my pull-list as I’m already following Uncanny X-Men, All New X-Men and X-Men, and with All New X-Factor being launched as well I can see myself reading a lot of X-Books. However, the X-Men are awesome, so I can’t wait to see how this unfolds. A must-buy for me.

AVENGERS WORLD

Avengers World #1

Story: Jonathan Hickman, Nick Spencer | Art: Stefano Caselli | Launch Date: January 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS TITLE? Another Avengers book seems to be on the cards and I’m slightly less excited for this one. However, Nick Spencer and Jonathan Hickman are both solid writersso I may check this one out depending on budget. However, I think this is going to be a $3.99 book so it will be a more expensive one. But nonetheless, the concept looks interesting and the characters are more familiar than All New Invaders and All New X-Factor, so I’ll give it a try if I can.

AVENGERS UNDERCOVER

Avengers Undercover #1

Story: Dennis Hopeless | Art: Kev Walker | Launch Date: March 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS TITLE? As the premise of Avengers Arena means that it’s going to come to an end eventually, that means there must be a new book in the works to replace it following its closure. Whilst I never was able to keep up with AA I did like what I saw of the first issue, and it’ll be interesting to see what Hopeless can do with the cast so I’ll be on board to check out this series for sure. As it’s a continuation from Avengers Arena which was a $2.99 book, I’m hoping this’ll be a cheaper series as well – and if so, I’m totally going to check it out. Looks like it could be a lot of fun.

BLACK WIDOW

Black Widow #1

Story: Nathan Edmondson | Art: Phil Noto | Launch Date: January 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS TITLE?  Out of all the titles that I’ve previewed here, Black Widow is probably the one that I’m looking forward to the most. Natasha Romanoff kicked ass in the MCU and it’s only a matter of time before she gets her own book. Whilst not to my memory having encountered a book from Edmondson and Phil Noto before, Black Widow looks like an interesting title and I’ll certainly check it out come January. Can’t wait for it!

INHUMAN

Inhuman #1

Story: Matt Fraction | Art: Joe Madureira | Launch Date: December 2013

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS TITLE? Inhuman is another book that I don’t know that much about other than the creative team, and it looks to tie into Infinity or at least the aftermath so I’m going to see how it plays out. Matt Fraction is an awesome writer – he’s behind Hawkeye, one of my favourite Marvel books – so I’m going to check out this book if I can. Looking forward to it.

IRON PATRIOT

Iron Patriot #1

Story: Ales Kot | Art: Garry Brown | Launch Date: March 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS TITLE? It’s Rhodey, man! Whilst I’d rather James Rhodes don the suit of War Machine as opposed to Iron Patriot, a title with Rhodes (who is one of the best things in the  Iron Man movies aside from you know, Robert Downey Jr),, the book certainly sounds appealing and with Ales Kot’s fantastic Zero #1 you can certainly count me in for this book. Looks like it could be a lot of fun.

LOKI: AGENT OF ASGARD

Loki, Agent of Asgard #1

Story: Al Ewing | Art: Lee Garbett | Launch Date: February 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS? With the popularity of Loki in the MCU and Young Avengers, it was only a matter of time before he got is own book and it certainly looks pretty interesting. He is currently stealing the show in the Young Avengers and I can’t wait to see where Al Ewing and Lee Garbett take the book from here – I liked Mighty Avengers #1 from Al Ewing and his prose fiction is also pretty strong, fun and pulpy as well, so I’ll certainly give this a try. I haven’t encountered anything by Lee Garbett before,so it’ll be interesting to see how the artwork plays out.

SHE-HULK

She Hulk #1

Story: Charles Soule | Art: Javier Puldido | Launch Date: February 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS? Like All New Invaders, Amazing X-Men and Inhumanity, this book was announced before NYCC and I’m really looking forward to it. Charles Soule is a fairly strong writer from what I’ve seen in his Villian’s Month books and his Superman / Wonder Woman #1 so I can’t wait to see how this turns out. It certainly looks pretty interesting and I’m glad that Marvel are putting out more books with female lead characters after the cancellation of titles like Journey into Mystery.

Silver Surfer

Silver Surfer #1

Story: Dan Slott | Art: Mile Allred | Launch Date: 2014

WHY AM I EXCITED FOR THIS? Despite the fact that Dan Slott may not be my ideal Silver Surfer choice, with Joshua Hale Fialkov taking that role, I’m interested to see how it plays out regardless as Slott is a very fine writer on The Superior Spider-Man so I’m looking forward to seeing where he takes this book.

2 comments on “A Look At All New Marvel Now!

  1. A couple things.

    All-New Invaders will have the normal Captain America, Steve Rogers. His old partner, Bucky, is the Winter Soldier – the guy with the guns on that cover.

    Avengers World isn’t replacing Assemble, which isn’t being cancelled. Instead, Avengers itself is going from bi-monthly to monthly, with World taking the place of that second Avengers issue.

Leave a Reply

