Upcoming TV Shows

I rundown a list of TV shows that I’m looking forward to watching from a variety of networks. You can expect to see reviews of episodes from all these series when they’re released and when I get around to watching them.

ALMOST HUMAN

WHY? Although this looks like a copy of pretty much everything from Robocop to I, Robot in the sci-fi robot subgenre, I’m willing to give this a chance. The last  TV show that I watched with JJ Abrams’ name attached was  Revolution, which I couldn’t stand the first episode of and haven’t gone back to watch more of it. However, Almost Human looks as though it could be fun and entertaining, even if not completely original (come on, at some point – we know that the robots will go rogue), and with the addition of Karl Urban – I’ll be interested to see how this works out. Certainly something that I’ll watch at least the first episode of – and as I’m a sci-fi fan, probably more than one.

ARROW

WHY? I know this is Arrow’s second season, but I thought I’d include it on here because I just can’t wait for the show to come back. I’ve loved the first series and as it got better over time, I can’t wait to see if this second season can hit the ground running, especially with the inclusion of awesome actress Summer Glau as a villain for the show (even though this increases the possibility of the show being cancelled due to Glau’s appearance – every  show that she’s been on from Alphas to Firefly has met an end after her introduction) and the possibility of an on-screen apperance of the Flash that could lead off into his own TV series. Another DC-verse addition sees Amanda Waller, the female version of Nick Fury – appear during this season at some point, something which I will be very interested to see how this show handles. I can’t wait for this though – especially after the season finale’s cliffhanger. Also, if you’re yet to see Season 1, I strongly recommend you don’t watch this video, because of spoilers.

BY ANY MEANS

WHY? One of the most distinctively non-genre TV shows on this list, By Any Means is a BBC One show that until looking for trailers for these shows to post on this blog, I’d never even heard of. However, I could do with watching more British TV (mainly because I am based in the UK and I seem to watch a load of American stuff) so hopefully this show will be interesting. It certainly does look promising though – and I’ll at least check out the first episode of it, much like Almost Human. 

THE ESCAPE ARTIST

WHY? This show doesn’t actually have a trailer for it yet, so I’ve decided to include the BBC Original British Drama trailer that was released containing images of it in its place. Starring David Tennant, whilst it isn’t something along the lines of DC Comics’ Talon series starring an actual Escape Artist on the run from a secret organisation, like I first thought it would be – The Escape Artist looks entertaining nonetheless. Also, the same could be applied to all of these BBC shows featured in the trailer – I’ll be checking them out for certain if I can – I just put the Escape Artist here because it was the one I was most anticipating.

THE HUNDRED

WHY? A show that will debut in the UK in 2014, meaning that I’ll get to watch it a lot later than most of my American Audience, is one that’s probably near-bottom of my list in terms of anticipation. It looks like Hunger Games meets Lord of the Flies and has the risk of becoming too angsty to keep me entertained. However, I love a good survival show (yet oddly, have never watched Lost) – so can’t wait to see how this turns out.

MARVEL’S AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D

WHY? Name me one superhero fan who isn’t excited for this. I loved Avengers Assemble and most of the previous films, so I can’t wait to see how Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D turns out. I’m happy that it airs in the UK as well  on a freeview channel, something that is always good news, especially when unlike other shows on this list, it airs pretty much in the same week as when it debuts in the USA. I love the S.H.I.E.L.D. angle of things and I can’t wait to see what Joss Whedon and company decide to bring to the table, with the cast looking set to be very interesting indeed. Certainly looking forward to this one.

ORPHAN BLACK 

WHY? This is something that’s already aired in the USA, and airs in the UK next Friday with episodes one and two being shown right after the other from 9pm. Hearing nothing but praise for this show by the people that watched it in the USA, including on an IGN review – I’m eagerly awaiting to see what this can bring to the table. This also looks set be the first of these shows that I’ll review, followed by By Any Means, which debuts on the Sunday in the same week. I can’t wait to see how this turns out so I’ll be really looking forward to watching it progress over the ten episodes of running time. I’m already resisting the temptation to look for spoilers.

THE SLEEPY HOLLOW

WHY? The Sleepy Hollow is a remake of a film that I’m yet to see, starring Johnny Depp – and looks set to be very interesting, having received fairly  positive reviews around the internet so far of its pilot episode – and by internet, I mean IGN. It looks like it could have a few elements of quirky humour and an interesting premise, so I’ll be on board for this one. Except it to hit the UK on Universal Channel October 9.

SHERLOCK 

WHY? There probably isn’t a single person in the UK who hasn’t heard of Sherlock, and is unaware of what happens at the end of the Season 2 finale. It’s kept us on edge for more than a year now – and I really can’t wait to see how it handles. Once again, this is another returning show – but it’s one that I’ll be eaglery awaiting regardless, as Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman carry the two lead roles superbly well.

THE TOMORROW PEOPLE

WHY? Like The Hundred, this is another show that won’t debut in the UK until 2014, so chances are – I’ll be waiting for it long after anybody else. However, it looks like a very interesting premise, if not totally original – sort of like Heroes and X-Men, even if it is technically a remake of a UK show. It looks like it could be a lot of fun and very entertaining, so even if I’ll have to wait longer than everybody else, hopefully it’ll be worth it.

So, now that that’s out of the way, what shows are you looking forward to? What have I missed? Let me know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

