Pacific Rim – Film Review

I review the latest original (In the sense that it’s not a prequel, sequel, spin-off or adaption) sci-fi action blockbuster, Pacific Rim, directed by Guillermo del Toro.

PACIFIC RIM 

Pacific Rim

So, as you can probably tell if you were following me on twitter, or saw my review of Angel yesterday, that I went and saw Pacific Rim at the cinema. I didn’t think I’d be able to see it because of the hot weather, but decided that I might as well – and went in and saw it anyway. As it turned out, I wasn’t disappointed. Sure, whilst the film may be flawed – the acting is mostly poor (aside from a few notable exceptions), and it’s pretty simple – it really does what it says on the tin. You don’t go to see a film with giant aliens fighting giant robots for its good acting. You go and see it because of giant aliens fighting giant robots. And on that basis, del Toro didn’t dissapoint, creating a fun, action packed blockbuster that’s easily the most fun movie of 2013 so far. (Although, to be fair – I only have seen three, Iron Man 3, Man of Steel and this, but with The World’s End hitting next week it might not keep it’s title for long.)

Idris Elba is probably the best actor of the lot here, performing very well as Stacker Pentecost, the General. As pretty much the only female in the whole film,  Rinko Kikuchi’s Mako Mori gets plenty of screentime, but her character comes off as cartoonish in many places with an exaggerated performance.  and also – something else that took me halfway through the film, it seems like Pacific Rim has a member of Torchwood working with them. Or at least, Burn Gorman anyway, who plays Gottlieb. (Owen Harper in Torchwood). He also starred in The Dark Knight Rises as well, it’s worth pointing out. However, As the film’s lead, Charlie Hunnam is strong Raleigh Becket – delivering a fairly solid role as the character.  However, There’s also a few stereotypical, cliched characters – the arrogant Australian, and the lack of character development harms the film a bit – but it’s still very much worth going to see for the pure, awesome spectacle of the epic fight scenes between the Jaegers and Kaijuu.

The film benefits from amazing visuals, with beautifully created special effects. This adds a whole new layer to the film, and whilst I only saw it in 2D, I can imagine how impressive that it would look in 3D. The plot is also pretty simple, and whilst nothing about it may be original – aside from the fact that it’s not a sequel, prequel e.t.c, like I mentioned above – it’s still very fun. Whilst you may think you could get tired of Jaegers vs Kaijuu action over the course of two hours, Del Toro allows for an ‘evolving’ Kaijuu that provide some entertaining action sequences, and it isn’t long before the humans are forced to desperate mesaures. On the basis of this film, I’m really looking forward to the upcoming Justice League Dark, or Dark Universe film, that’s said to be in the works, even if the characters I don’t really know much about, like Constantine, Zatanna etc.

You can also feel that Del Toro has really put some passion and effort behind this film. It’s atmospheric, vivid and very entertaining, and you shouldn’t really find yourself bogged down trying to make your head around the plot because it is pretty simple, even if the ending is kind of a deus ex machina style. If You’re in for the monsters vs. robot fights, and that’s what you’ll get. As a result, I really enjoyed this film – and can’t wait for its DVD release. Whilst it’s far from perfect, I still think it deserves a high rating. It’s probably going to end up being in my Top 5 films of the year at this rate (that is assuming I’ll get around to watching more than five – but I should, because The World’s End,  Elysium, Thor: The Dark World and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug are all high on my to-see list, and I’m sure something else will come up and surprise me as well.

VERDICT: 4/5

Leave a Reply

