Comic Book Haul – 27 February 2013

In another Wednesday Feature,, I share the two comics that I picked up today. (Note, see below for why I put Uncanny X-Men #1 on this blog as a cover rather than the newer titles).

Yeah, I only picked up two issues today, mostly because I didn’t want to spend that much money before my trip to Black Library Live at the weekend. But they’re pretty fun reads, and one is a Marvel title, the other being a DC title. As you can see below, they are Talon #5 (DC) and Uncanny X-Men #2 (Marvel). I didn’t use a cover image from any of the new titles because I couldn’t find any that were large enough unfortunately.

Camera(0)

Talon #5 by James Tynion IV & Scott Snyder

Talon #5

Writers: James Tynion IV & Scott Snyder |Art: Guilliem March | Cover Art: Guillem March | Publisher: DC Comics

• The Talon vs. Felix Harmon, a.k.a. The Gotham Ripper!

• The bank heist goes terribly wrong. Who will make it out alive—and who is already dead?!

• The Talons secret hideout is in danger—and so are all the people in it!

[Note: This synopsis  I got directly from DC’s website – but it appears to be the same synopsis for what happened in #4.  The issue’s content is quite different to the synopsis mentioned here]

Uncanny X-Men #2 by Brian Michael Bendis

Uncanny X-Men #2

Writer: Brian Michael Bendis | Art: Chris Bachalo | Cover Art: Chris Bachalo | Publisher: Marvel Comics

There is a mole on Cyclops’ team, but who is it?When you hunt the UNCANNY X-MEN you use Sentinels, but when you find out WHO’S DOING THE HUNTING your jaw will drop!

Both issues are strong reads, but I think I prefer Talon to Uncanny X-Men in the long run. But I’ll be sticking with both series and it’ll be interesting to see how things develop particularly in Uncanny X-Men #2. After Black Library Live, I’m going to use whatever spare cash I have from that to spend on comics next Wednesday, so we’ll see how this turns out. Assuming of course I have any spare change, Do I use this chance to catch up on some titles like All New X-Men and New Avengers, buy a graphic novel (or two), or try out some more titles? Green Arrow #17 is, I’m told – excellent, and one that I want to check out because of Arrow, but I also want to give stuff like Avengers Arena and The Uncanny X-Force from Marvel Now a try. So we’ll see how it goes.

Also, as it’s New Comic Book Day today, I’d be interested to hear what you picked up. Let me know either on twitter or in the comments below?

3 comments on “Comic Book Haul – 27 February 2013

  1. I’ve got Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Secret History of the Foot Clan #3, Artifacts #25, Aquaman #17, Dr. Manhattan #4, Red Lanterns #17 and Teen Titans #17 picked out for myself. I’m toying with the idea of putting in an order for the TMNT comics in print as well. Not sure. Need to check if they come with digital codes. If they do, and they are cheap, I’ll get Foot Clan #3 in print and forgo getting it digital first.

Leave a Reply

