Comic Book Haul – 20 February 2013

Before my long car journey today, I managed to pick up a few comics that were released today, and if you read on – you can see what they are.

Alright, here’s the list of comics that I got this week. 3 in total, as opposed to the 4 that I picked up last time, as I didn’t get anymore as I went into the store with £10 which was enough for only three comics. The three comics in question are: Geoff Johns’ Justice League of America #1 and Justice League of America’s Vibe #1, as well as Jeph Leob’s Nova #1. The latter as part of Marvel Now!, and the former as part of the DC New 52.

Comics 20 February 2013

Nova #1

NVA_1

Writer: Jeph Leob | Art: Ed McGuinnes, Dexter Vines, Marte Gracia | Cover Art: Ed McGuinnes | Publisher: Marvel Comics

 The Human Rocket returns! You’ve followed him through the history making (and changing!) AvX and now the mystery of the all-new Nova are revealed in this breathtaking new ongoing by the best-selling, award winning team of Jeph Loeb and Ed McGuinness (RED HULK, Avengers X-Sanction). Sam Alexander is a kid bound by the gravity of a small town and a father whose ridiculous, drunken fairy tales about a “Nova Corps” were just another heavy burden in a life full of them. But luckily for Sam Alexander…soon gravity won’t even matter. And those troubles? It’s like they’re a billion miles away.

Justice League of America #1

JLA_1

Writer: Geoff Johns | Art: David Finch | Cover: David Finch | Publisher: DC Comics

• The march toward TRINITY WAR begins with part one of “WORLD’S MOST DANGEROUS”!

• Green Lantern! Green Arrow! Catwoman! Katana! Vibe! Hawkman! Stargirl! They aren’t the world’s greatest super heroes—they’re the most dangerous! But why does a team like the JLA need to exist? What is their ultimate mission? And who is pulling the strings?

• Plus: Find out why Martian Manhunter is the most dangerous of them all. Period.

Justice League of America’s Vibe #1

JLA_VIBE_1

Writers: Andrew Kreisberg, Geoff Johns | Art: Pete Woods | Cover: David Finch | Publisher: DC Comics

No, that’s not a typo. Vibe stars in his own ongoing monthly title, starting with this debut issue cowritten by GEOFF JOHNS!

• One of the most unlikely members of the Justice League of America ever (okay, THE most unlikely) will soon discover he’s one of the most powerful individuals on Earth. But how did Vibe get his abilities? What is the cost to them? And why does the JLA want him on the team so desperately?

• Plus: We’ve seen the Red Room and the Black Room, but what is…the Circus?

And there we have it. I really enjoyed reading these batch of titles with Justice League of America’s Vibe and Nova taking me completley by surprise – I did not expect either of them to be as awesome as they were. Justice League of America was brilliant and I think I will be sticking with all three titles. That’s all from me now though – until next week, where I know at least two titles that I’m interested in are released, Uncanny X-Men #2 and Talon #5. Don’t think I’m going to be able to pick up anymore, but I’m certainly getting those two titles.

7 comments on “Comic Book Haul – 20 February 2013

  1. I’ll be interested to hear what Nova is like. It sounds promising, and Loeb has been getting better since Ultimatum, but his out of the blue pointless inclusion in the AvX disaster and the fact the old one was killed off to make room for him still seems dubious.

    • Nova is pretty decent, starting with an origin story that’s pretty much been done before. But Loeb has managed to make it bearable and entertaining here – and whilst I haven’t read a lot of his work, I’ve read enough to know that it’s better than the mini-series X-Sanction that he wrote, although it’s not quite at the same level as Hush and The Long Halloween, the DC stuff that I’ve read by him.

  2. Here’s my thoughts on my latest reads, including JLA.

    Green Lantern #17 by Geoff Johns. Not sure about this Volthoom dude, the First Lantern, but I liked this issue quite a bit. Unfortunately, it appears that I need to start reading Green Lantern Corps to catch up since the next installment of the “Wrath of the First Lantern” story is in GLC next month. Simon Baz continues to rock!

    If you are not reading this, then you are definitely missing out I think! Especially since the next couple issues are going to be Johns’ last on Green Lantern as he’s stepping down.

    Justice League #17 by Geoff Johns. Amazing. A fantastic conclusion to the “Throne of Atlantis” crossover. I think Johns got the story beats down really well here, and the conclusion sets up a great issue of Aquaman this Wednesday. Can’t wait.

    Since you are reading the series, this is gonna be a great one for you. Best issue of the series hands down.

    Justice League of America #1 by Geoff Johns. A LOT of dialogue and exposition here. Very talkative issue. Loved it. I wasn’t expecting it to be this good to be honest, and I can’t wait for #2. Some niggles would be the scene with Catwoman and Trevor, and some of the art. Martian Manhunter’s cameo is jaw-dropping though!

    • Awesome, I totally need to catch up on the Green Lantern series but am torn between reading it from Rebirth and the whole lot or getting up to date with the New 52 collected editions and working my way backwards. Glad you thought JLA #1 was good, I really enjoyed that title as well.

      • I’m told by @AquamanShrine that it’s better to read the series from when Johns took it over, especially to read from Rebirth. I wanted to avoid reading too much from the same sort of comics, e.g. the Bat-family comics. Guess I can’t really. Ah well!

  3. (have to start a new post apparently) I’ve been meaning to follow a long comics run for a while. Will probably focus my trades collection on Green Lantern, Sandman and Astonishing X-Men for the next few months then – as I need to catch up on all of these titles. Only read the first volumes of Sandman and Astonishing X-Men, but it should be a fun journey.

  4. The only long-run stuff I’m following at the moment is Amazing Spider-Man with all of Dan Slott’s issues, and Bendis’ second run on Ultimate Spider-Man.

Leave a Reply

