Comic Book Haul – 13 February 2013

So, here’s a quick post showing which four issues I got today from my local comic book store.

So, I went and brought several print issues today from my local comic book store, which is something that I don’t normally do – having previously limited myself to just collecting print issues of Talon and Batman, and waiting for the trades of everything else – but with some new titles, such as Secret Avengers and Uncanny X-Men having first issues out today, I thought – why not? So, without further ado – here are the comics that I brought today:

NCBD 13.02.13[Click on the image for a bigger picture. I was taking this with a Kindle Fire that I was holding upside down so it may not be the best quality.]

Secret Avengers #1

Secret Avengers #1

Writer: Nick Spencer | Art: Luke Ross, Matthew Wilson | Cover: Tomm Cooker | Publisher: Marvel Comics

“The Most Dangerous Secrets We Have… Are The Ones We Keep From Ourselves.” The new Nick Fury leads a covert Avengers strike team including but not limited to Hawkeye, Black Widow, The Hulk, The Winter Soldier, Maria Hill and Phil Coulson on missions so dangerous, even the team members themselves can’t know about them!

Fearless Defenders #1

fearless defenders #1

Writer: Cullen Bunn | Art: Will Sliney | Cover: Mark Brooks | Publisher: Marvel Comics

NEW TEAM! NEW VILLAINS! NEW CREATORS! Valkyrie and Misty Knight are the Fearless Defenders and not since Power Man and Iron Fist has an unlikely duo kicked this much—well, you know. Writer Cullen Bunn (Venom, Sixth Gun, The Fearless) and new-to-Marvel artist Will Sliney (MacGyver, Star Wars) bring you the book everyone is going to be talking about on Thursday morning.

Uncanny X-Men #1

Uncanny X-Men #1

Writer: Brian Michael Bendis | Art: Chris Bachalo | Cover: Chris Bachalo | Publisher: Marvel Comics

The true flagship book of the X-Men returns. In the wake of the Phoenix, the world has changed and is torn on exactly what Cyclops and his team of X-Men are – visionary revolutionaries or dangerous terrorists? Whatever the truth, Cyclops, Emma Frost, Magneto, and Magik are out in the world gathering up new mutants and redefining the name UNCANNY X-MEN.

Batman #17

batman #17

Writer: Scott Snyder | Art: Greg Capullo, Jonathan Galpion, FCO Plasencia | Cover: Greg Capullo | Publisher: DC Comics

“Death of the Family” part 5, the shocking conclusion to the Bat-Family epic. Who lives? Who dies? Who laughs last? Find out as Batman and The Joker face off one last time!

So that’s it for now. Next week, Justice Society of America and Justice Society of America’s Vibe are released, and I would like to pick those up but alas I will be on holiday that week (with internet connection, so I will be able to kick off the first Guest Post series on the Writing Blog). This could be a regular Wednesday feature as I aim to buy at least one or two issues per week after next Wednesday. But we’ll see how things roll from here on out.

I’ve read all of the above comics and can say that they are really good. Fearless Defenders is probably the weakest but is far from the worst issue comic that I’ve read – I’ll be sticking around for #2 for sure. I have reviews for all but Batman #17 coming in the comics roundup on The Founding Fields on the 15th if you want to check it out then.

5 comments on “Comic Book Haul – 13 February 2013

  1. I finally have all 4 issues of Darwyn Cooke and Amanda Conner’s Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre in print! Picked up issues 1, 2 and 4 this Satuday and I had 3 from last month (my local mega-bookstore has a weird stocking system or something and they normally carry very few single issues).

    At the moment, I’m collecting the Batman Death of the Family arc for only the Snyder issues. Thinking about getting the Batgirl ones too. Already have Star Wars #1 as well (just need to pick it up, it’s arrived), and will be ordering #2 soon.

    I don’t mind getting all these comics in both print and digital. For one, the artworks and the covers are just phenomenal, and two, the stories are pretty damn good.

    • Awesome – Before Watchmen is a series I’m thinking of getting in print as well. Like you, I don’t mind getting comics in both digital/print format, although I haven’t been using Comixology a lot lately as I had to restore my IPod to factory settings. But I’ve still got the digital comics on the website.

Leave a Reply

